What I did in Australia: Part 3/3

The second week in Australia drew to a close and brought another round of bustling to pack and catch the next flight…..this time to Sydney! I was excited to see one of the most famous Australian cities and ignorant about the fact that it wasn’t actually the country’s capital. Just goes to show how much of world geography I’ve derived from pop culture.

Right opposite our hotel was the subway, which was our preferred mode of transport during much of our stay.

This is just before going underground:

We have family friends who live in the city, who we went with to see the Sydney Opera House and watch the Vivid Festival of Lights, which was quite amazing. I didn’t do as good a job of capturing awe-inspiring footage as I thought because I guess I was caught up in the moment, but thankfully many others have succeeded. I entreat you to watch this one if you’re interested:

The colourful and creative lights display, across the Opera House and the buildings of the city was very memorable.

 

 

We visited the Blue mountains next. I hadn’t charged my camera at this point so it died on me. So, I have no pictures to show at this point, I’m afraid, but suffice it to say the real treat during this expedition was seeing many kangaroos en-route. The rest I remember is misty and cold.

 

The Sky Tower was our last major stop in the city, as tourists.

There was some shopping and some cuddling with the family friends’ dog and general moments which made me affirm that it’s not where you are, but who you’re with and what you do, which decides how good or bad a vacation is.

That concluded our Sydney visit. Melbourne was calling us!

 

At the risk of sounding like an obnoxious commercial, can I spend a few seconds just talking about how wonderful our hotel in Melbourne was? Every inch of it was well-designed and incredibly glamorous.

I think I was most dazzled by the fact that there was an entertainment center attached to the hotel, and I could grab an ice cream from the food court and head over to watch a movie at a place that was just a minute’s walk away from my room. I did this in my pajamas at four in the morning.

 

The trees just outside the hotel were very pretty when lit up in the evening.

 

Early in the morning, we awoke to begin our “Great Ocean Road Adventure” during which we saw many scenic places, like the Twelve Apostles:

 

Tempting…..oh, wait, it says “may”.

 

We stopped at many beaches where the water seemed to be leftover from the ocean doing its laundry:

 

This is a place called Loch Ard Gorge, along the Shipwreck Coast.

The cove reminded me of stories in adventure books that I read when I was younger.

 

This was on the opposite side, and gave me chills for some reason.

 

We made a quick stop at Port Campbell. I had some delicious peppermint ice cream that I can still almost taste.

Somewhere during the journey to all these places, we spotted a few koalas in the wild. Our tour guide told us that they decide to move only for a few minutes each day, to a different tree with fresh leaves, when they need to. Not the most hyperactive of animals is an understatement.

 

The night before we left the city we went to this restaurant called Dracula’s Cabaret. The food wasn’t much, but the shows were brilliant. The performers had fantastic jokes, costumes, props and spot-on comedic timing. And really, what’s not to love about a Gothic-themed place? My only peeve was they had banned photography.

Choosing to exclude the uneventful second layover in Hong Kong brings me to the end of my trip. I hope you’ve enjoyed reliving it with me.

What do you think?

