One Lovely Blog Award

A few days ago, I was excited to learn that I’d been awarded the One Lovely Blog Award by Jessica from HairsprayandHemingway.

After following her blog for a few weeks now, I’ve grown dependent on her ability to churn out intelligent and thought-provoking posts. And I really appreciate her considering my blog.

So, the rules require me to reveal 7 things about myself and nominate 15 blogs for the award. Go ahead and skip down to the good stuff.

 

Revelations

1. I’m severely addicted to tea. More so in winter, when I drink at least 6 cups a day. Vanilla Oolong is my favourite. Peppermint comes a close second.

2. I have a Labrador who is smarter than many people I’ve met.

Meet Sphinx

3. I’m left-handed.

4. As a child, I was prone to head injuries, which might explain a lot. At the age of six, when playing on the terrace, I had the inspired idea of skipping down the stairs(complete with a jump-rope). Suffice it to say, I ended up with six stitches on my head and a fractured leg.

5. In the 5th grade I tripped and hit my head on a wall that my friends and I were rushing to, while playing a game. That was messy.

6. Not, however, as messy as when I slipped on a wet rock while trekking during camp. It was the first time we were going without any counsellors, or so we thought, until my fall revealed that they had been following us the entire time, from a distance, with binoculars. I still managed to complete the trip, though I attracted every leech in the forest. Sorry if I’m boring you with the gory details.

7. I’ve been hooked on to the Keith and The Girl podcast, since April. Now, I can’t imagine life without it.

 

 

From what I understand, a nomination means you’ve won the award, so here are my fellow recipients. Congrats!

 

1) Writing is Love – Natalie is committed to writing and photography; her site throws in the occasional furry creature, and is always a lovely read.

2) Kip’s Thoughts – Kip finds inspiration in famous quotes and multiplies it with his own words, so people like me can find it neatly wrapped, in moments of mental confusion.

3) Ermilia – This blog revolves around books and the co-authors, Ermisenda Alvarez and Eliabeth Hawthorne. You might already know that I’m a huge fan of their fortnightly ‘Picture It and Write’.

4) Jorge Farah – Music and personal anecdotes are the focus of his blog, which also veers off into other, equally interesting directions. A great place to discover new music or reminisce.

5) Danny Hatch – I discovered his blog through the KATG podcast, for which he works as an intern. I can really relate to his neurotic style of thinking, and his works of fiction are brilliant.

6)  Yes and Yes – Vibrant and full of life, it carries interviews with amazing people, great life advice, and wonderful fashion and travel tips.

7) Smart, Pretty and Awkward – I look forward to Molly’s snippets of wisdom and reassurance much like I do a comforting cup of tea. Which is among the highest compliments I could give.

8) Not So Lonely Londoners – Fashion, music, film and anything art-related finds its way into this blog. It’s always informative, fun, and at least for me, nostalgia-inducing, since there are often references to works of fiction I was fond of as a child.

9) Being Geek Chic – Elizabeth is amazingly versatile and her site reflects that, what with posts ranging from DIYs to technology, to design.

10) Golden-Zephyr is written by a British Romani living in the US, who offers a very interesting perspective while relating the traditions and expectations in her life.

11) Toned Down and Vintage – Anyone looking to absorb the evasive and delicate art of subtlety should visit this blog. As the name might suggest, it has a unique, peaceful vibe to it.

12) Off The Cuff – Okay, so I’m a bit biased. She was my friend and pen-pal for a long time before she recently took on the role of blogger. But I maintain that her honest, open writing would have won my heart anyway.

13) Dark Angel’s Confessions – I might have missed this treasure were it not for Google Translate, since I don’t speak Romanian. It has beautiful fan-fiction, poetry and diary entries, which convinced me that emotion does transcend language.

14) Accidentally Observant – Alice is never afraid to be honest, cynical or random, which I admire to an envious degree.

15) Melanie Crutchfield – This blogger was recently featured on Freshly Pressed, for her post “Shirley the Sheepish Feminist”. The alliteration alone would have drawn me to it.

There! Have fun blog-hopping. And thanks again for the lovely award :)

23 thoughts on “One Lovely Blog Award

  1. Pingback: Twice Lovely, Once Shy | Discoveries in a Letterbox

  2. Pingback: Smart Pretty and Awkward » Blog Archive » Year Four.

What do you think?

